Love Will Win if We Let It

My mind has been circling for quite awhile now and I think with all the controversy that society has been culminating over the period of months, heck years, it’s all fueled a constant question in my mind: why are we so focused on the decisions and details of others that we feel the need to separate into different groups? We’ve got the homosexuals over here, and the Christians over there. We have the African American community over there and the white community over here. Oh and don’t forget the general female population, particularly the feminists.

The general mantra of society today it seems like has become “believe in equality and approve of everything or you’re a terrible bigoted, racist, sexist person.” As a Christian, I’m part of a stereotype of being the group that thinks they’re holier than thou and that people think I hate the gays or that I feel I’m too good for anyone else. While that’s maybe true for an uneducated few, it certainly isn’t for me, nor a vast majority of Christians. Just as untrue are the stereotypes towards all the different groups vying for a spot on a pedestal to claim equality.

Why do we say we strive for equality when our actions differ by way of separation? This generation is often dubbed as one of the most narcissistic generations in history and I can’t say I disagree fully. I believe that the best way to end this war over equality is to stop talking and start acting. Acting with love. If we’re all equals as humans which I believe we all are, then we need to start acting like brothers and sisters whether we’re gay, straight, male, female, black, white, etc. Agree to disagree and if someone has the same beliefs as you then great, if not ok. We’re all saying we want to be equal because of who we are, so shouldn’t our beliefs be included in that? How are we ever supposed to live in peace if we don’t love others just the way they are?

One of my favorite quotes is “Our culture has accepted two huge lies. The first is that if you disagree with someone’s lifestyle, you must fear or hate them. The second is that to love someone means you agree with everything they believe or do. Both are nonsense. You don’t have to compromise convictions to be compassionate.” (Rick Warren) As a Christian I personally believe that a marriage was created between one man and one woman, BUT I also believe that loving someone for who they are and not what they do is crucially important. I believe in holding others accountable in love and that you better believe no matter who you are I will be there for you every step of the way with whatever battles life may throw at us.

We NEED to STOP separating ourselves by belief by way of condemning others for theirs if we want to see any change for equality in humanity. By equality I mean basic human rights. Stop the judging, stop the hating, just love others as God has loved us. And guess what else? God doesn’t hate you. He loves you, he created you, and he wants to know you regardless of who you are or what you’ve done. You are never far beyond the reaches of grace. Ever. I am unashamed to share what I believe to be the truth in this world. Maybe you don’t agree with my beliefs, I love you anyway. Maybe you hate me for it, I love you anyway. Maybe the girl who’s been oppressed all her life and identifies as a feminist is shouting from the rooftops for equality because actions aren’t speaking louder than words. Maybe the gay kid in the closet is terrified because regardless of how he comes out he knows he’s going to disappoint someone so he secretly speaks out for equality in hopes it’ll make things better in the future.

The problem is that with all these voices creates a clamor that suffocates our society into thinking that if we don’t approve of the lifestyles of others then we’re considered a bad person. The truth is that by only surrounding ourselves with likeminded people, society is going to stay exactly the same: separated and vying for a pedestal of equality (a little contradictory don’t you think?). If we lived in a world where we could voice our opinions and share our ideas with love and be met with a mere disagreement but affirmation that our beliefs are the proof and manifestation of us as an individual that matters in this world, then maybe this world wouldn’t be so ravaged by me, myself, and my beliefs, and more of us, we, I see where you’re coming from and I love you anyway.

When I say “stop talking and start acting” I don’t mean to stop standing up for what you believe in, I mean stop nitpicking others and separating into different groups based on social issue and LOVE. THEM. SIMPLY. Then standing up for what we believe in would become sharing what we believe in. You don’t have to agree with the choices they make or the way that they think but all in all I think this world would be far better if we stopped talking about our differences and started talking about what makes us the same. We all have a beating heart, a desire to love and be loved, and to have someone in our life that can see us for who we are: a human being with emotions, passions, love to give, and a soul to be nourished. I pray that regardless of who someone is or that maybe if I don’t agree with what they do or choices they make, it’s not my duty to judge, but because of knowing who I am and being steadfast in my beliefs of how loved I am, that I will unwaveringly hold till the day I die, then they can know how completely, wholly, and unconditionally loved they really are and that their voice matters so they may stop yelling to be heard because they know they finally have been.

Leave a Reply

